Small Groups

Beauty at the Table Small Groups: God made us for community – to be in relationship together, to break bread and share our stories with one another.  As we begin the year 2020, we will gather for four weeks to give thanks for God in our lives, God in our church, and God in our world.  We will give witness to the beauty that surrounds us at all times and in all places.  Come join us to connect deeper with one another and to grow closer to our God. Please review the available schedule below, and email with link provided therein to be registered into the group of your choosing.

Tuesday, 1/21-2/11: 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. email Rev. Uiyeon Kim at ukim@mpumc.org
Tuesday, 1/21-2/11: 6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. email Rev. Taylor Barefoot at tbarefoot@mpumc.org
Wednesday, 1/22-2/12: 10:45 a.m. – 11:45 a.m. email Rev. Uiyeon Kim at ukim@mpumc.org
Wednesday, 1/22-2/12: 6:15 p.m. – 7:15 p.m. (childcare by advance reservation) email Rev. Jessica Dayson at jdayson@mpumc.org
Thursday, 1/23-2/13: 7:00 a.m. – 8:00 a.m. email Rev. Taylor Barefoot at tbarefoot@mpumc.org

Book Study: Beginning Thursday, January 9,  from 10:30 -11:30, Liza Zopp leads a book study on Tom Berlin’s “Reckless Love” as we learn how to love God more deeply by loving our neighbors better. For more information or to sign up, email Liza at zoppnc@aol.com.

Mom’s Groups (Young Adult Small Groups): A place of encouragement and spiritual grounding for expectant moms, new moms, moms of multiples and moms of young children. Offering study, support, service and occasional guest speakers. Childcare available by reservation. Group meets Wednesday, 10:45-11:45 beginning September through end of May. Contact Rev. Jessica Dayson at jdayson@mpumc.org to learn more.

Evening Moms Group: Join us to meet other moms at MPUMC. Join us for a great time of fellowship, faith development, and deepening relationships. Contact Rachel Heath at rachel.heath1@gmail.com.

Myers Park Readers: a book study that will analyze the theological concepts and themes within J.R.R.Tolkien’s, The Lord of the Rings series, starting with “The Hobbit.” NOTE: ALL AGES ARE WELCOME! First meeting will be on September 22 at 7-8 pm, meeting on the 3rd Sunday thereafter. If you have questions or would like to join, please contact Grace Pressley at gpressley03@gmail.com.

The Relatives service group (Young Adult Small Groups): Serve dinner at The Relatives the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month, 5:30-7:00 p.m., September through May. Contact Megan Salvia at msalvia@carolina.rr.com.

Uptown Men’s Small Group: This group for men of all ages, including those 18-30s, meets at Amelie’s in uptown and centers around fellowship and book discussion. Tuesdays, 7-8 a.m. at Amelie’s in uptown Charlotte. Contact Justin Lenarcic at JSLenarcic10@yahoo.com

Click here for additional specific Young Adult groups and events.